Skip to main content



The 10th International Workshop on
Network and Operating System Support
for Digital Audio and Video


June 26-28 2000
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, USA

Kevin Jeffay & Harrick Vin



Sponsored by:

Distributed and Real-Time Systems Research Group
Department of Computer ScienceĀ 
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Session I: Pricing (Lawyers, Guns, and Money)


Performance Study of Congestion Price based Adaptive Service
Xin Wang and Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University

Protocol-independent multicast pricing
Tristan Henderson and Saleem Bhatti, University College London, UK

Cooperative Metering for Receiver initiated Service Level Agreement
Syed Umair Ahmed Shah and Peter Steenkiste, Carnegie Mellon University


Session II: Server and Gateway Media Transcoding and Packaging


A Server-centric Streaming Model
Jin Hwan Jeong and Chuck Yoo, Korea University

Design and Implementation of Programmable Media Gateways
Wei Tsang Ooi, Robbert van Renesse, and Brian Smith, Cornell University

Audio/Video Messaging for Multiple Devices
Jill Boyce, Mauricio Cortes, and J. Robert Ensor, Bell Laboratories, Lucent Technologies


Session III: Operating System Issues


The Case for Reexamining Multimedia File System Design
Prashant Shenoy, University of Massachusetts

Measuring the Multimedia Performance of Server-Based Computing
Jason Nieh and Jae Yang, Columbia University

The Power of Virtual Time for Multimedia Scheduling
Andy Bavier and Larry Peterson, Princeton University


Session IV: Mobility and Entertainment Services


PRISM, an IP-based architecture for broadband access to TV and other streaming media
A. Basso, C. D. Cranor, R. Gopalakrishnan, M. Green, C. Kalmanek, D. Shur, S. Sibal, C. Sreenan and J.E. van der Merwe, AT&T Research and University of Cork, Ireland

The Design of A Digital Amphitheater
Allison Mankin, Maryann Maher, Jarda Flidr, Ladan Gharai, and Ron Riley, USC/Information Sciences Institute

Component-based Active Networks for Mobile Multimedia Systems
S. Schmid, J. Finney, A.C. Scott, and W.D. Shepherd, Lancaster University, UK

Automating the Creation of Personalized Mobile Multimedia Services
Kazuhisa Tanaka, Hitachi Ltd., Japan, and Andrew T. Campbell and Michael E. Kounavis, Columbia University


Session V: Video Streaming and Caching


Scalable Video Delivery on the Web
B. Prabhakaran, Yu-Guang Tu, and Yin Wu, National University of Singapore

An Experimental Dynamic RAM Video Cache
Nicholas J. P. Race, Daniel G. Waddington, and Doug Shepherd, Lancaster University, UK

MiddleMan: A Video Caching Proxy Server
Soam Acharya, Inktomi Corp., and Brian Smith, Cornell University


Session VI: TCP-Based Media Transmission


Streaming Stored Continuous Media over Fair-Share Bandwidth
Despina Saparilla, University of Pennsylvania, and Keith W. Ross, Institut EURECOM

Speeding Up Short Data Transfers: Theory, Architectural Support, and Simulation Results
Yin Zhang and Lili Qiu, Cornell University, and Srinivasan Keshav, Ensim Corp.

A Rate Based RED Mechanism
Stefaan De Cnodder, Kenny Pauwels, and Omar Elloumi, Alcatel, Belgium


Session VII: Multicast Congestion Control and Reliability


Topology Sensitive Congestion Control for Real-Time Multicast
Srinivasan Jagannathan, Kevin Almeroth, and Anurag Acharya, University of California Santa Barbara

Pathological Behaviors for RLM and RLC
Arnaud Legout and Ernst W. Biersack, Institut EURECOM

A Centralized, Tree-Based Approach to Network Repair Service for Multicast Streaming Media
Dan Rubenstein, University of Massachusetts, and Nicholas F. Maxemchuk David Shur, AT&T Research


Session VIII: TCP Friendliness versus Flow Isolation


LDA+ TCP-Friendly Adaptation: A comparison and measurement study
Dorgham Sisalem and Adam Wolisz, GMD Fokus and TU Berlin

Dynamic-CBT – Better Performing Active Queue Management for Multimedia Networking
Jae Chung and Mark Claypool, Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Goodput Control for Heterogeneous Data Streams
Jia-Ru Li, Xia Gao, Leiming Qian, and Vaduvur Bharghavan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

SF-FC: A Neighbor-State Based Flow Control with Soft Fairness
Yosuke Tamura, Yoshito Tobe, and Hideyuki Tokuda, Keio University, Japan


Session IX: Performance, Models, & Multicast


Modeling of Packet Loss and Delay and Their Effect on Real-Time Multimedia Service Quality
Wenyu Jiang and Henning Schulzrinne, Columbia University

Supporting the Need for Inter-Domain Multicast Reachability
Kamil Sarac and Kevin Almeroth, University of California Santa Barbara

WHIM: Watermarking Multicast Video with a Hierarchy of Intermediaries
Paul Judge and Mostafa Ammar, Georgia Institute of Technology


Session X: Network-Centric Coding


Incorporating Application-Level Knowledge Into the MPEG-2 Coding Model
Ketan Mayer-Patel, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Providing Efficient Support for Lossless Video Transmission and Playback
Ali Saman Tosun, Amit Agarwal, and Wu-Chi Feng, The Ohio State University

Providing Smoother Quality Layered Video Stream
Srihari Nelakuditi, Raja R Harinath, Ewa Kusmierek, and Zhi-Li Zhang, University of Minnesota

Related Links


NOSSDAV 2000 Organizing Committee


Program Chairs

Kevin Jeffay University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Harrick Vin University of Texas at Austin

Program Committee

Kevin Almeroth University of California, Santa Barbara
Richard Black University of Glasgow, UK
Wu-chi Feng Ohio State University
Jim Griffioen University of Kentucky, USA
Sugih Jamin University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Charles Kalmanek AT&T Labs Research
Dilip Kandlur IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Robin Kravets University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ian Leslie Cambridge University, UK
Brian Levine University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Ketan Mayer-Patel University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Klara Nahrstedt University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Jason Nieh Columbia University
Duane Northcutt Sun Microsystems
Venkat Padmanabhan Microsoft Research
Injong Rhee North Carolina State University
Timothy Roscoe Sprint Advanced Technology Labs
Henning Schulzrinne Columbia University
Prashant Shenoy University of Massachusetts, Amherst
Doug Shepherd Lancaster University, UK
Raj Yavatkar Intel